My “Happy New Year” Post

I have been wanting to blog all day. Everyone is posting their New Year’s post and it feels almost wrong to not be posting one as well. I mean, I have so much I could write about and I’ve been committed to blogging for almost two years. How can I not come up with something????

Yesterday I started a post to say good-bye to 2013. I never got past the first few lines. The words just never came. How do you say good-bye to the year that changed your life?

It’s not that I was having trouble parting with 2013.  I really just wanted it to quietly slip out the back door. As my dad always says, “It’s been real. It’s been fun. But it hasn’t been real fun.”   2013 didn’t deserve a big send-off.

And not to be all “Diabetes is Our World”…but a small part of me really feels like the New Year officially starts January 4th when we celebrate Ian’s 1st Diaversery.  I think it will maybe always be that way.

If this sounds sad or depressing, it’s not. Trust that I write this post with peace in my heart.

I don’t need a flip of the calendar to start me on the path to being a better person.

I don’t need a holiday to remind me to forgive and forget.

I don’t need to point out all the things that I don’t like about myself and declare half a dozen changes I want to make in the next 365 days.

If I’ve learned anything in 2013, I’ve learned that despite the greatest efforts, despite being the best mom you think you can possibly be, despite working harder than you’ve ever worked, despite loving someone with your whole heart, despite planning your day, week, month, year, and life….things happen.

Good things. Bad things. Unexpected things. Things you didn’t plan for, ask for, wish for, dream of…..

Things happen.

Some bad things suck the life out of you.

And, oddly enough, some bad things somehow breathe new life into you.

I hope that all of you…my friends, my family, my followers….have the best year you’ve ever had, until 2014 throws a little something at you…because, well, you know it will.

But when it does, I truly hope that you will use that little something to make an even better life for yourself.

And now let us believe in a long year that is given to us, new, untouched, full of things that have never been. ~ Rainer Maria Rilke

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “My “Happy New Year” Post

Leave a Reply

