Thought #41: Making concessions (or choosing my battles)

As a school teacher, I’ve had to be sure I’m never a pushover. I must have limits and boundaries with kids, and it carries over into my parenting.

And compared to some parents, I do not spoil my kids at all.

However, I have noticed in the past few weeks, that there are some things I simply don’t fight and I give in too much more than I used to.

When your kid has diabetes, you don’t make them eat the burnt Poptart or Toaster Strudel.  In the past, yes….I would scrape the burnt edges with a knife.

Or say, “It’s fine. Just eat it.”

Today I burnt Ian’s breakfast. And when he looked at it and said, “Ooooh….that’s kinda burnt,” I said, “I know. I’ll make another one.”

And I tossed the burnt Toaster Strudel in the trash.

It’s not his fault I was busy drawing up insulin while I was making his breakfast. It’s just another effect of diabetes multi-tasking and timing is everything.

Some may say it’s wasteful.

I say it’s not fair that the boy lives on a controlled diet.  If he only gets a certain amount of food at each meal, then he deserves for it to not be burnt.

The “I love you, Mommy” when I put the plate down in front of Saturday morning cartoon’s is worth the sacrifice.

There are other concessions I make too, sometimes.

When your kid has diabetes and he asks to sleep with you at night every now and then, you say ok.  Especially when he’s nervous about the next day’s events or his blood sugar is high…or low…or it’s just been a bad day.

There is something comforting about having him there, hearing him breathe in and out, and cuddling with someone who will one day be “too cool” to hug his mom in public.

When your kid has diabetes and he has a friend over, and they accidentally bust a hole in the drywall in his bedroom because they are slam dunking the ball in the over-the-door hoop….

You take a deep breath,  take a picture and say, “It’s ok” because you are just happy to hear the boys laughing and playing hard.

Because an hour before that, he was laying on the couch trying to bounce back from a blood sugar of 60.

As parents, we all have to choose our battles (especially with a soon-to-be 13-year-old daughter in the house).

We have to decide when to give in and when to say “No.” When have to decide when to laugh and when to yell. When to bend the rules and to draw a line.

When your kid has diabetes, it becomes a lot more clear which battles are worth fighting.

Leave a Reply

