Thought #39: This is an unfamiliar road.

One of the hardest things for us is each new experience.

Ian and I are both worriers by nature and we both like to feel in control.

So when a new situation pops up, be it a field trip, a musical rehearsal, a trip to the water park, a sporting event, a new restaurant…we have a lot of questions and a lot of concerns.

I’ve always had to reassure Ian and give him as much detail and explanation as possible to make him feel comfortable with things.

So imagine trying to guess/estimate/predict what each new experience will be like and give your child the reassurance and details he so desperately needs.

A few days ago, in the driveway, before school, he was pressuring me for specifics to some new situation (which I cannot remember right now) and I stopped dead in my tracks, pulled him over to me, put my hands on his shoulders and looked him straight in his big brown eyes.

And I said, “Buddy, I so wish I had all the answers and I could tell you what you need to know. I wish that I knew what to expect and what would or could happen. I can’t and I don’t. This is all new and I know it’s scary. I just need you to trust me that I will be there for you. I will work it out and do my best whatever happens.”

And later that day, I heard a popular song and it just clicked…it was what I was trying to get through to him. I can hardly listen to it anymore without tears welling up in my eyes.

Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road
And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Leaving the lyrics open for interpretation, what better way to express the love and shelter that a mother provides for her children.

Leave a Reply

