Thought #36: I “love” my pharmacist.

I joked around with Jay tonight that I see the pharmacist more than I see him…which is true.

I’ve already been there twice this week and I’ve also talked on the phone with Brad twice.

I started out at a different pharmacy that was closer and more convenient, but after three weeks I had his prescriptions transferred to my normal pharmacy which has shorter hours and is not as close. I simply couldn’t deal with the first pharmacy anymore. Everything seemed to be an issue. Nothing was ever in stock. And they made me pay up front as they did not accept my insurance.

Brad and his staff have been more than wonderful.  They answer every question, tell me everything I need to know, make phone calls for me, search for FastClix, and took care of transferring everything for me. They have made something that is so complicated and expensive and crucial a little easier to deal with.

It also helps that they accept my insurance upfront which will make one less step in the insurance paper trail.

Two days ago I picked up Ian’s refill of syringes.  One minute from my house, at a red light, I think to look in the bag.

I have the wrong syringes.

I need 1/2 unit syringes because he takes such a tiny dose of Humalog. 1.5 units at lunch and dinner.

I called the pharmacy right away and Brad says he’ll take care of it and call me as soon as the rest of my refills come in and I can easily exchange the syringes.

Brad called yesterday and I went today after school.

He assured me that he has his information clearly marked in the computer and it should be fine from here on out.  We will always be given 1/2 unit syringes.

He marked it in three different places in fact…just to be sure.

He also told me that Ian is now the second customer he deals with that uses 1/2 unit syringes.

Two people of all their customers.

Two little kids who need tiny amounts of insulin.

That almost made me cry.

And as I left, I got to thinking….Ian is now someone they “know” at the pharmacy. They likely don’t have a face to put with the name yet, if they don’t remember me bringing him various times before his diagnosis.

He hasn’t been there since he was diagnosed but they know him, they know the situation, and they are always so kind to me. They are so patient with my questions and almost, for lack of a better word, compassionate.

It seems silly to say, but it’s true.  I can see it in their eyes when I talk to the girls. They see a lot of sick people and deal with hundreds of customers and they understand my concerns and our needs and it makes me feel so grateful that I switched pharmacies.

When you rely on medication to keep your child safe, a pharmacist and his staff are probably the most important people in your world.

Leave a Reply

